• The Glass Woman by Caroline Lea

Okładka miękka
59.98
szt. Do przechowalni
ISBN 9781405934619

1686, Iceland. A cold, windswept land where they talk of witches and fear strangers . . . 
 
'Gripped me in a cold fist. Beautiful' Sara Collins, author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton

'A perfect, gripping winter read. I loved it' Sophie Mackintosh, author of The Water Cure 
____________

When Rósa is betrothed to Jón Eiríksson, she is sent to a remote village. 

There she finds a man who refuses to speak of his recently deceased first wife, and villagers who view her with suspicion. 

Isolated and disturbed by her husband's strange behaviour, her fears deepen. 

What is making the strange sounds in the attic? 

Who does the mysterious glass figure she is given represent? 

And why do the villagers talk of the coming winter darkness in hushed tones?

The Glass Woman is a mysterious and captivating tale of love, fear and superstition, perfect for readers of The MiniaturistThe Silent Companions, and The Bear & The Nightingale
____________

'ENTHRALLING' Stacey Halls, author of The Familiars & The Foundling 

'CRACKLES WITH TENSION. MOVING AND ATMOSPHERIC, I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions & Bone China 

'MEMORABLE AND COMPELLING. A NOVEL ABOUT WHAT HAUNTS US - AND WHAT SHOULD' Sarah Moss, author ofGhost Wall 

'EVOCATIVE, COMPELLING, WITH A BRILLIANT TWIST' Daily Express

'AN ICELANDIC JANE EYRE . . . COMPELLING, ATMOSPHERIC' Sunday Times

'INTENSELY WRITTEN AND ATMOSPHERIC, WITH AN UNUSUAL SETTING'Daily Mail

'A CHILLING TALE' Good Housekeeping

'LIKE A GHOST STORY TOLD AROUND A WINTER FIRE Tim Leach, author of Smile of the Wolf

SHORTLISTED FOR THE HISTORICAL WRITERS ASSOCIATION DEBUT AWARD

 

  • Format:
    • Paperback / softback
    • 400 pages
  • Publisher:Penguin Books Ltd
  • Imprint:Penguin Books Ltd
  • ISBN:9781405934619
  • Published:14 Nov 2019
  • Classifications:
    • Iceland
    • c 1600 to c 1700
    • Historical mysteries
    • Historical fiction
  • Readership:
    • General (US: Trade)
  • Weight:284g
  • Dimensions:128 x 197 x 29 (mm)
  • Pub. Country:United Kingdom